VPP Class of 2018

The Visiting Professor Program (VPP) is a nine-day program at agency, marketer and media companies for professors who have little to no industry experience. The program is open to qualified professors who teach advertising, marketing and liberal arts and is offered in partnership with Fordham University.

The VPP is a forum for both professors and the industry to develop mutually beneficial relationships and to share research. It enhances professors’ understanding of advertising and marketing which better informs their teaching and research. Host companies benefit as they develop closer ties to academia through their visiting professor’s research. In addition, through connections made by professors, the VPP is a talent pipeline for students who are interested in the industry.

Over 500 professors have participated in this engaging program. The VPP has expanded and offers professors three ways to participate: the Immersion, the Fellowship and the Shadow Program. In 2018, 33 professors and two Ph.D. students were exposed to some of the most innovative companies in NYC through the Immersion. Ten professors remained in NYC to participate in the Fellowship for ‘deep-dive’, one-on-one experiences at their host companies. The Shadow Program will give professors the opportunity to shadow an agency leader or CMO to learn about the industry. This program will be launched during the Fall 2018 semester and will be offered year-round.

Class of 2018 VPPs

Fellowship Participants

Professor School Host Company
Melissa Aronczyk Rutgers University Ogilvy
Siobhan Carter-David Southern Connecticut State University UniWorld Group
Moran Cerf Northwestern University R/GA
Sara Champlin University of North Texas DDB
Joanna Jenkins Howard University McCann
Katherine Mueller Temple University Saatchi & Saatchi
Sharrona Pearl Univ. of Pennsylvania, Annenberg IBM
Can Uslay Rutgers University Young & Rubicam
Kasey Windels University of Florida Translation
Quan Xie Bradley University Publicis Media


Immersion Participant List

(in addition to all Fellowship participants)

Professor School
Camille Abbruscato Stony Brook University
Cynthia Barstow Univ. of Massachusetts, Amherst
Alexander Bleier Boston College
Eva Bongiovanni DePaul University
Myla Bui Loyola Marymount College
Carolyn Coal California State Univ., Fullerton
Deborah Cohn NY Institute of Technology
Rochelle Daniel Bowie State University
Judy Davis Eastern Michigan University
Shilpa Dave University of Virginia
Kevin Gotkin New York University
Sara Grant California State Univ., Fullerton
Sonya Grier American University
Richard Kedzior Bucknell University
Yanick Rice Lamb Howard University
Yoon-Joo Lee Washington State Univ.
Hongmei Li Miami University
Jay Newell Iowa State University
Courtney Pade Univ. of Southern California
Sonja Poole University of San Francisco
Geah Pressgrove West Virginia University
John Sloop Vanderbilt University
Yvette Sternberk Ithaca College

Future Professor Participants

Regina Ahn University of Illinois
Glenna Read Indiana University

Visiting Professor Program

"Our future marketing and advertising leaders are not just looking for a job, they are looking for a meaningful career that will make a positive impact on society."
— Gord McLean, President and CEO at ANA Educational Foundation